Meatless Monday

26 Mar

Meatless Monday… have you tried it? Going meatless at least one day a week was one of my New Year Resolutions for 2012 and I decided to carry it over to 2013. I have to admit that my meatless day does not always fall on a Monday, but Meatless Monday has a better ring to it than Meatless One Day a Week. Am I right? This week, my meatless day did happen to fall on Monday and my dinner of Huevos Rancheros stole the spotlight.

Image

It is easy to stay away from meat when you know dishes can be this delicious. My Huevos Rancheros recipe is simple and easy. From the bottom up it’s corn tortillas, mashed black beans, eggs, and then fresh salsa to top it off. Last night’s plate was extra special because we added some leftover cheese, a little splurge to the healthy meal. When planning Meatless Monday meals, I always try to plan the main item to be a high in protein. I stay away from pasta because I don’t believe that this is a healthy alternative to lean meat. Meatless Monday usually includes eggs, beans, or seafood. The options are endless, and it’s great to challenge yourself to being meatless one day a week.

And now I just have to share this picture. Apparently I have a 60 pound lap dog. It took Chipper about 5 minutes of wiggling around in Mike’s lap before he found the perfect position. He has no sense of personal space (and I wouldn’t change it for the world).

Image

One Response to “Meatless Monday”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meatless Monday: Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili | Quintessential Quarters - April 15, 2013

    […] Meatless Monday (sweatingforsweets.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

