One Pot Meals

3 Apr

My Crockpot really does save the day quite often. It makes preparing dinner so easy. Yesterday early in the afternoon I was able to throw all the ingredients for my Salsa Chicken into the pot and then head to school. When I got home after 7:30 I had a delicious meal waiting for me. I didn’t have to worry about cooking a meal and eating too late. Crockpot meals are my go to when I know I have a long day at school ahead of me.Image

This picture just does not do the meal any justice. For my Salsa Chicken I mix together 24oz of salsa, a package of taco season, the juice of one lime, a chopped handful of fresh cilantro, and a chopped jalapeno. I then place the chicken breasts into the Crockpot and pour the salsa mixture over top. It cooks for about 6 hours on low, or until chicken pulls apart easily. After the chicken is cooked I add a can of rinsed black beans to the pot and cook until the beans are warmed through. This chicken is delicious served with a tortilla, sour cream, and a little cheese on top, but last night I enjoyed it as is with a salad on the side. It was the perfect end to a long day.

What are your go to meals when you are crunched for time?

Leave a Reply

