Snack Attack

14 May

Yesterday marked the start of summer classes for me. I am taking one class on campus the first half of summer, so that means class every single day of the week. Insane, I know. But on the positive side, the class seems like it will be really interesting and applicable to my future career. 

Today after class, I hit the gym to complete my workout for the day. This last phase of Best Body Bootcamp is comprised of high intensity training workouts and the first workout for the week was a tabata workout. Until today I’d never tried a tabata workout. When I intially wrote  the workout down last night I was a little skeptical of the whole tabata process. It seemed like it was going to be a quick and easy workout, but boy was I wrong! The tabata workout keeps your heart rate up but also keeps things interesting by constantly changing exercises. I can now sing the praises of tabata! After the workout I felt the need to run, so I completed some sprints on the treadmill. 

I am obviously not back into the swing of things yet, because I forgot to bring a snack with me for in between class and the gym. I am a big fan of healthy snacks to hold me over until the next meal. My eating schedule usually includes breakfast, a morning snack, lunch, an afternoon snack, and dinner. If I miss one of these my body gets angry with me! Since I was snackless this afternoon, food was on my mind when I got home. I grabbed a greek yogurt and finished it in mere seconds. Still not completely satisfied, I also had a half of a serving of these delicious almonds. 

Image

 

Salt and vinegar. Yum, yum, yum! The strong flavor definitely fulfills that afternoon salty craving. I could eat the whole canister of these almonds, but I make sure to ration them out. 

What are some of your healthy go-to snack favorites?

Mine usually include fruit, greek yogurt, almonds, or a small protein shake.

One Response to “Snack Attack”

  1. Karen May 14, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    Awesome workout!
    I’m the same way with snacks – need to bring them with me everywhere or I crash.

Leave a Reply

