Downwind

23 May

I started the day off with a fairly short run outside. Even though I headed out at 8:30am, it was already so humid here in Central Florida. I also had the joyful experience of being downwind from a garbage truck. Since I was running an out and back route I didn’t really have the option to adjust my path. I was officially stuck with the stench. 

Image

 

I wasn’t particularly happy with my pace, especially since I ran an 8 minute mile yesterday on the treadmill, but at least I got out there and got moving. This afternoon I came across this post from Jessica about how the heat affects your pace when running. I think it’s important to have realistic expectations when headed out for a run in the summer months. The heat impacts our bodies and speed and so we can’t let that mess with our mental stamina. 

The rest of the day was pretty low key. I went to class and then caught up on last night’s Chicago Fire. Does anyone else watch this show? Last night’s season finale was intense! Dinner tonight was some leftovers from earlier in the week: BBQ chicken, sweet potato topped with goat cheese, and asparagus. 

Image

 

I’m ready for tomorrow to get here! After class I will be heading home to Ocala for the night and  then on Saturday I will be going down to Tampa to spend the weekend at the beach with some friends. I cannot wait! 

Leave a Reply

