Challenge Accepted

29 May

I’m finally back into the swing of things after an amazing long weekend. I didn’t really have a choice though, my class wasn’t going to cancel itself just because I wanted a few more days of vacation. 

I got back to Gainesville yesterday morning and grocery shopping was a serious priority. I had nothing to eat in the apartment. I loaded up on produce and the necessities. And by necessities I mean this. 

Image

 

Ben & Jerry’s just happened to be BOGO at Publix and I had a dollar off coupon. I just could not pass that deal up. Aside from my little sweet treats that will be enjoyed in small amounts, I stuck to healthy food in hopes of eating mostly clean this week after over indulging this weekend. Yesterday afternoon I chopped up a ton of produce to make this delicious fresh black bean and corn salsa. 

Image

 

For dinner last night, I topped a tortilla with this mixture and then put two sunny side eggs on top. The perfect meatless Monday meal! For tonight’s dinner I plan to mix some of the salsa with brown rice and chicken to make my own version of a Noritto Bowl from Tijuana Flats. 

I’m about to head to the gym and today’s workout is going to focus on my back. Last night I read about the Runner’s World Run Streak Challenge. It is a challenge to run at least one mile every day between Memorial Day and Independence Day. Although I’m two days late, I figured I’ll still give it a shot. So today’s cardio will include at least a mile run. I’ll keep you all posted with my progress. Feel free to join in!

3 Responses to “Challenge Accepted”

  1. Karey at Nutty About Health May 29, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    I agree, Ben & Jerry’s is hard to pass up, especially when it’s BOGO! I’ve been wanting to try that new PB&J Core one, but luckily, I haven’t seen it. I think my current fave is What the Fluff?, or whatever they’re calling it now. O.M.G. is what I call it. ha ha

    Your mention of Tijuana Flats is really making me miss it!! I used to LOVE eating their veggie burritos, so good!!

    • sweatingforsweets May 29, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      The PB&J flavor sounds delicious! I’ll keep my eye out for that one as well. I have to treat myself every now and then 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In a Frenzy | Sweating for Sweets - May 30, 2013

    […] This sweaty circuit that I created before heading to the gym. I had in mind that I would do each exercise for 30 seconds then rest 10 seconds and move onto the next exercise. I wanted to complete 3 rounds of the circuit. The workout moved very quick and got my heart rate up. I decided to throw in a 1/4 mile sprint at the end of each circuit. After my three rounds of the circuit and sprints I finished up with a one mile run for the Runner’s World Streak Challenge.  […]

Leave a Reply

